Packages 2017-07-24T12:55:49+00:00

Discovering the Splendour of East Africa

Kenya?s wilderness is famous worldwide. The name Kenya has become synonymous with the great wilds of Africa but they represent far more than you would ever expect, protecting and showcasing a broad range of habitats and species. Millions of wildebeest on their annual migration and equally large numbers of pink flamingos massing on the shores of the Rift Valley soda lakes are breathtaking sights.
Masai Mara?s open plains are renowned for the Big Five; Amboseli, with snow-capped Kilimanjaro as a magnificent backdrop, is home to huge herds of elephant. The Great Rift Valley?s Lake Nakuru offers habitat for tens of thousands of flamingos whilst Lake Naivasha is home of the hippopotamus; Ngorongoro Crater, a spectacular natural amphitheatre, teems with animals; Lake Manyara abounds with elephant, hippopotamus and buffalo; Tanzania?s largest national park ? Serengeti is a perfect backdrop to the wildebeest migration; and the marine parks? coral reefs host prolific aquatic life.
Tanzania?s famous Serengeti National Park is well-known for its great migration. Over a million wildebeest and about 200,000 zebras flow south from the northern hills to the southern plains for the short rains every October and November and then swirl west and north after the long rains in April, May and June. The ancient instinct to move is so strong that no drought or crocodile infested river can hold them back.

Today, the Serengeti National Park, the Ngorongoro Conservation Area and the Masai Mara Game Reserve protect the greatest and most varied collection of terrestrial wildlife on earth, one of the last great migratory systems.

African bush elephant (Loxodonta africana)

The African elephant is a very large herbivore having thick, almost hairless skin, a long, flexible, prehensile trunk, upper incisors forming long curved tusks of ivory, and large, fan-shaped ears. There are two distinct species of African elephant: African forest elephant (Loxodonta cyclotis) and the African bush elephant (Loxodonta africana). The elephants are difficult because despite their large size, they are able to hide in tall grass and are more likely to charge than the other species.

Lion (Panthera Leo)

The lion is a large carnivorous feline of Africa and northwest India, having a short, tawny coat, a tufted tail, and, in the male, a heavy mane around the neck and shoulders. Lions are desirable to hunters because of the very real danger involved. A lion may attack without provocation, and is considered by many to be the best of the Big Five.

Leopard (Panthera pardus)

The leopard is a large, carnivorous feline having either tawny fur with dark rosette-like markings or black fur. Of the Big Five, it is most difficult to acquire hunting licenses for leopards. The leopard is sometimes considered the most difficult of the Big Five to hunt because of their nocturnal and secretive nature. They are wary of humans and will take flight in the face of danger. The leopard is solitary by nature, and is most active between sunset and sunrise, although it may hunt during the day in some areas. Leopards can be found in the savanna grasslands, brush land and forested areas in Africa.

African buffalo (Syncerus caffer)

The African buffalo is a large horned bovid. Buffalo are sometimes reported to kill more people in Africa than any other animal, although the same claim is also made of hippos and crocodiles. It is considered the most dangerous of the Big Five, reportedly causing the most hunter deaths,with wounded animals reported to ambush and attack pursuers.

Black rhinoceros (Diceros bicornis)

The black rhinoceros is a large, thick-skinned herbivore having one or two upright horns on the nasal bridge. Rhinoceros may refer to either black or white rhinoceros. Among Big Five game hunters, the black rhinoceros is preferred.